Back to the roots.

I made my mind up to publish this email, I got just some days ago, because I think it is meaningful about what kind of people are passing by our place . It has been written by a lady who spent some days at our place in Trieste, standing by before going to her family’s place of origin, Montenegro. Read and enjoy it! That’s even a good guide for people who are planning to get there.

I am the American woman who stayed at your hostel 17-19 June 2012, that you helped get the overnight bus to Dubrovnik on my way to seek my long-lost family in Kotor, Montenegro.  I just wanted to tell you that everything worked out great.  The bus from Trieste to Dubrovnik was from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 a.m. the next morning (15 hour ride) for 64 euros.  There were 3 buses out of Dubrovnik to Kotor and Budva (3-1/2 hours for 17 euros).  The first should have come at around 10 a.m., but didn’t show until 11:30, so it was 3:00 p.m. before we got to Kotor, but the main thing was I did it, reached my destination one day after I left Trieste.  Roads and buses were good, stuck to a coast route.

In Kotor I stayed at the Montenegro Hostel on one of the main squares next to the Maritime Museum for about 14 euros a night.  Convenient, friendly hostel that offers tours to the national parks and Montenegro Big Tour for 40 euros, as well as transfer to Tirana, Albania for 40 euros.  I pass this information along in case any of your guests may want to do a similar journey.

Using Kotor as a base, I visited Risan, from which my grandfather emigrated to America more than 100 years ago.  It was a small enough town (only about 2,000 people) that the taxi driver knew the family and was able to take me to their farm.  They never heard of me, but welcomed me in, and showed me photos of my great-grandfather and his sons, as well as giving me a photo of my grandfather to keep.  The old stone farmhouse where my grandfather was born and raised was in the back yard, no longer habitable since damaged by a strong earthquake in 1979, but still there for me to see and imagine how they lived.  It was a real thrill for me.  Very special, and your help made it possible.

I returned to Italy on the Bar to Bari ferry and then caught a bus for Sorrento for a few days there and a final few in Rome before flying home 2 July.  This was such a special trip and I am so grateful for your help which smoothed my way.  I gave you the highest rating on hostelworld.com.  Just wanted to share how everything went after we parted.  I cannot thank you enough.  With best wishes, J. J.

Leave a Reply

